Shopping Cart -

Your cart is currently empty.
Continue Shopping
This website use cookies and similar technologies to improve the site and to provide customised content and advertising. By using this site, you agree to this use. To learn more, including how to change your cookie settings, please view our Cookie Policy
Pocketmags Digital Magazines
Pocketmags Digital Magazines
   You are currently viewing the Italy version of the site.
Would you like to switch to your local site?
Digital Subscriptions > Long Live Vinyl > Jul 2019 - David Bowie > The Rolling Stones

The Rolling Stones

Steve Harnell cracks the whip over the soundtrack of the 1968 extravaganza, now including a previously unheard version of The Beatles’ Revolution featuring John Lennon with The Dirty Mac



1 Mick Jagger’s Introduction

2 Entry Of The Gladiators

3 Jethro Tull Intro

4 Song For Jeffrey

5 The Who Intro

6 A Quick One While He’s Away

7 Over The Waves

8 Ain’t That A Lot Of Love

9 Marianne Faithfull Intro

10 Something Better

11 The Dirty Mac Intro

12 Yer Blues

13 Whole Lotta Yoko

14 The Rolling Stones Intro

& Jumpin’ Jack Flash

15 Parachute Woman

16 No Expectations

17 You Can’t Always Get What You Want

18 Sympathy For The Devil

19 Salt Of The Earth

20 Checkin’ Up On My Baby

21 Leaving Trunk

22 Corinna

23 Revolution (Rehearsal)

24 Warmup Jam

25 Yer Blues (Take 2)

26 Julius Katchen Intro

27 De Falla: Ritual Fire Dance

28 Mozart: Sonata In C Major

The Stones sat on this TV special recorded in December 1968 for almost 30 years, narked by the fact they were upstaged on the night by The Who, Taj Mahal and one John Winston Lennon.

When they relented in 1996, the sheer weight of one-of-a-kind rock happenings contained within more than warranted it seeing the light of day. It marked Brian Jones’ last public show with the band, John Lennon’s first live performance outside of The Beatles (Quarrymen excepting, of course) and a headline-grabbing turn by the ‘Orrible ‘OO. On this expanded reissue, further fascinating extras add to its legend.

Purchase options below
Find the complete article and many more in this issue of Long Live Vinyl - Jul 2019 - David Bowie
If you own the issue, Login to read the full article now.
Single Issue - Jul 2019 - David Bowie
Or 799 points
Annual Digital Subscription
Only € 6,25 per issue
Or 7499 points
Monthly Digital Subscription
Only € 6,99 per issue
Or 699 points

View Issues

About Long Live Vinyl

1969 was the year that changed everything for David Bowie, and in our exclusive cover feature we speak to his former girlfriend Hermione Farthingale, plus bandmates John 'Hutch' Hutchinson and George Underwood to get the inside story. With three new Bowie boxsets out this year, you won't want to miss these rare interviews with the people who knew Bowie best – and our stunning collector's cover. Elsewhere this issue, we meet the ever-engaging Richard Hawley for a pint and a chat about his new album, Further, while Calexico and Iron & Wine tell us about their collaboration LP, Years To Burn. On the 40th anniversary of Joy Division's stellar debut Unknown Pleasures, Peter Hook takes us inside the making of the album, and we look back at another classic, Talk Talk's The Colour Of Spring. We also pay tribute to US indie label Merge on their 30th birthday and hear from James Lavelle about working with DJ Shadow, Thom Yorke, Richard Ashcroft and Danny Boyle. If all that's not enough, we bring you 40 essential vinyl samplers and meet Super Furry Animals artwork designer Pete Fowler. Plus you'll find the widest range of new album, reissue and hi-fi gear reviews anywhere on the newsstand. Long Live Vinyl is THE magazine for vinyl lovers. Pick up your copy today…