We use cookies to track usage and preferences. See Cookie Policy
Pocketmags Digital Magazines
IT
Pocketmags Digital Magazines
   You are currently viewing the Italy version of the site.
Would you like to switch to your local site?
Digital Subscriptions > The Hedge Fund Journal > Issue 121 - March | April 2017 > French Elections

French Elections

Euro hangs in the balance?

ERIK NORLAND, CME

With the Dutch elections over, the Euro has breathed a sigh of relief. As Geert Wilders’ nationalist Freedom Party fell short in the parliamentary elections on March 15, the euro gained nearly one percent against the US dollar, albeit on a day when most currencies strengthened versus the greenback. While Wilder’s party suffered a spectacular collapse in polls in the immediate run up to the election, there was never any serious concern that he would be running the Dutch government. By contrast, the upcoming French Presidential election in April has the potential to be a much bigger source of volatility for the euro, as well as other currencies, equities and bonds.

France votes in two rounds. Round one takes place on Sunday, April 23, and the top two vote getters will proceed to the second round on Sunday, May 7. On both days, the French government will issue an exit poll at 8:00 pm Paris time (7:00 pm London, 2:00 pm New York and 1:00 pm Chicago) with a preliminary projection of the winner. It appears likely that one of those two top vote getters will be Marine Le Pen of the National Front who promises, among many other things, to hold a referendum on France’s memberships in the European Union (EU) and in the Euro currency that spans 19 countries. As such, a Le Pen victory holds the potential to roil the markets in the way that the surprise Brexit vote did in 2016.

READ MORE
Purchase options below
Find the complete article and many more in this issue of The Hedge Fund Journal - Issue 121 - March | April 2017
If you own the issue, Login to read the full article now.
Single Issue - Issue 121 - March | April 2017
€129,99
Or 12999 points
6 Month Digital Subscription
Only € 140,00 per issue
€699,99
Or 69999 points

View Issues

About The Hedge Fund Journal

Informing the Hedge Fund Community. With access to some of the industry’s biggest names and an astute and talented group of writers and contributors, The Hedge Fund Journal has established itself as a trusted source of information on the hedge fund industry.
Modalità di pagamento Pocketmags Payment Types
A Pocketmags si ottiene Fatturazione sicura Ultime offerte HTML Reader Regali Loyalty Points