EU
You are currently viewing the European Union version of the site.
Would you like to switch to your local site?
  
Latest Issue

Organists' Review Magazine December 2011 Back Issue

English 60 Reviews   •  English   •   Music (Classical) Only €3,49
The press release informing us of the publication of Dr David Ponsford‘s book was the seed from which this issue grew. We were therefore delighted that he agreed to contribute the opening feature; we were also very much aware that 2012 was a centenary for Jehan Alain so we approached leading performer and scholar, Stephen Farr, to write an article on the subject; because of this strong start, the remaining articles ‘fell into place’. As Helga Schaurte had recently
edited the Urtext edition of Jehan Alain’s complete works it seemed logical to ask her how this had transpired. I am indebted to the Jehan Alain Association for allowing me to reproduce the spectacular image of the Alain house organ together with an outline of its recent history. (Now that Organists’ Review is perfect-bound, the A3 pull-out can be found inside the back cover.) Keeping with the French theme, Will Fraser writes about the recording of his latest DVD release. Staying ‘on topic’ Daniel Moult returns to the You can play this feature with pieces by Dandrieu (Grade 1), Lebègue (Grade 4) and Couperin (Grade 6). The education section then continues with Alan Morrison tackling the sticky subject of memorisation in The Organist's Toolkit. There is also the promised write-up of Congress – the first to visit the Emerald Isle. The photography is glorious, so enjoy!
read more read less

Organists' Review

December 2011 The press release informing us of the publication of Dr David Ponsford‘s book was the seed from which this issue grew. We were therefore delighted that he agreed to contribute the opening feature; we were also very much aware that 2012 was a centenary for Jehan Alain so we approached leading performer and scholar, Stephen Farr, to write an article on the subject; because of this strong start, the remaining articles ‘fell into place’. As Helga Schaurte had recently edited the Urtext edition of Jehan Alain’s complete works it seemed logical to ask her how this had transpired. I am indebted to the Jehan Alain Association for allowing me to reproduce the spectacular image of the Alain house organ together with an outline of its recent history. (Now that Organists’ Review is perfect-bound, the A3 pull-out can be found inside the back cover.) Keeping with the French theme, Will Fraser writes about the recording of his latest DVD release. Staying ‘on topic’ Daniel Moult returns to the You can play this feature with pieces by Dandrieu (Grade 1), Lebègue (Grade 4) and Couperin (Grade 6). The education section then continues with Alan Morrison tackling the sticky subject of memorisation in The Organist's Toolkit. There is also the promised write-up of Congress – the first to visit the Emerald Isle. The photography is glorious, so enjoy!


SELECT FORMAT:
Instant Access

Available Digital Offers:

Single Digital Back Issue December 2011
 
3,49 / issue
This issue and other back issues are not included in a Organists' Review subscription. Subscriptions include the latest regular issue and new issues released during your subscription and start from as little as €6,00 per issue . If you're looking to subscribe please check out our Subscription Options
View all offers + View more offers + Hide extra offers - Savings are calculated on the comparable purchase of single issues over an annualised subscription period and can vary from advertised amounts. Calculations are for illustration purposes only. Digital subscriptions include the latest issue and all regular issues released during your subscription unless otherwise stated. Your chosen term will automatically renew unless cancelled in the My Account area upto 24 hours before the end of the current subscription.

Issue Cover

Organists' Review  |  December 2011  


The press release informing us of the publication of Dr David Ponsford‘s book was the seed from which this issue grew. We were therefore delighted that he agreed to contribute the opening feature; we were also very much aware that 2012 was a centenary for Jehan Alain so we approached leading performer and scholar, Stephen Farr, to write an article on the subject; because of this strong start, the remaining articles ‘fell into place’. As Helga Schaurte had recently
edited the Urtext edition of Jehan Alain’s complete works it seemed logical to ask her how this had transpired. I am indebted to the Jehan Alain Association for allowing me to reproduce the spectacular image of the Alain house organ together with an outline of its recent history. (Now that Organists’ Review is perfect-bound, the A3 pull-out can be found inside the back cover.) Keeping with the French theme, Will Fraser writes about the recording of his latest DVD release. Staying ‘on topic’ Daniel Moult returns to the You can play this feature with pieces by Dandrieu (Grade 1), Lebègue (Grade 4) and Couperin (Grade 6). The education section then continues with Alan Morrison tackling the sticky subject of memorisation in The Organist's Toolkit. There is also the promised write-up of Congress – the first to visit the Emerald Isle. The photography is glorious, so enjoy!
read more read less
If you love to play, love to listen to or simply love to discuss organs as an instrument, this is the magazine for you. It provides a kaleidoscope of the organ world, with articles, information and stunning pictures covering a wide range of organ related topics. In addition to regular features such as new music and CD reviews, each issue explores in depth a theme of current interest.

Starting life primarily as the quarterly magazine of the IAO it is now available to all.

As a subscriber you'll receive the following benefits:


•  A discount off the RRP of your magazine
•  Your magazine delivered to your device each month
•  You'll never miss an issue
•  You’re protected from price rises that may happen later in the year

You'll receive 4 issues during a 1 year Organists' Review magazine subscription.

Note: Digital editions do not include the covermount items or supplements you would find with printed copies.

Your purchase here at Pocketmags.com can be read on any of the following platforms.


You can read here on the website or download the app for your platform, just remember to login with your Pocketmags username and password.

Apple Pocketmags Online Pocketmags Google Pocketmags
The Pocketmags app runs on all iPad and iPhone devices running iOS 13.0 or above, Android 8.0 or above and Fire Tablet (Gen 3) or above. Our web-reader works with any HTML5 compatible browser, for PC and Mac we recommend Chrome or Firefox.

For iOS we recommend any device which can run the latest iOS for better performance and stability. Earlier models with lower processor and RAM specifications may experience slower page rendering and occasional app crashes which are outside of our control.
4,6
/5
Based on 60 Customer Reviews
5
38
4
19
3
3
2
0
1
0
View Reviews
SUBSCRIBER

Organists' Review

Brilliant!! Reviewed Sunday, 29 November 2020

Organists' Review

Latest edition (September 2020) is particularly interesting with some good articles Reviewed Friday, 4 September 2020
SUBSCRIBER

Organists' Review

Good range of topics written by respected authors Reviewed Tuesday, 7 April 2020
SUBSCRIBER

Organists' Review

Go on with the good job! Reviewed Sunday, 23 February 2020
SUBSCRIBER

Organists' Review

As a big fan of the pipe organ, I can read and keep up with information regarding the organ/organists in one publication. No searching through different pubs looking for the info that you have Kindly offered for our reading pleasure. Thank. You.
David Crandall
Reviewed Friday, 14 February 2020
December 2023 
                issue December 2023 December 2023 Buy for €6,99 View | Add to Cart
September 2023 
                issue September 2023 September 2023 Buy for €6,99 View | Add to Cart
June 2023 
                issue June 2023 June 2023 Buy for €6,99 View | Add to Cart
March 2023 
                issue March 2023 March 2023 Buy for €6,99 View | Add to Cart
December 2022 
                issue December 2022 December 2022 Buy for €6,99 View | Add to Cart
September 2022 
                issue September 2022 September 2022 Buy for €6,99 View | Add to Cart
June 2022 
                issue June 2022 June 2022 Buy for €6,99 View | Add to Cart
March 2022 
                issue March 2022 March 2022 Buy for €4,99 View | Add to Cart
December 2021 
                issue December 2021 December 2021 Buy for €4,99 View | Add to Cart
September 2021 
                issue September 2021 September 2021 Buy for €4,99 View | Add to Cart
June 2021 
                issue June 2021 June 2021 Buy for €3,49 View | Add to Cart
March 2021 
                issue March 2021 March 2021 Buy for €3,49 View | Add to Cart
December 2020 
                issue December 2020 December 2020 Buy for €3,49 View | Add to Cart
+
See All