You are currently viewing the European Union version of the site.
Would you like to switch to your local site?
Latest Issue

Organists' Review Magazine Organists' Review June 2012 Back Issue

English
60 Reviews   •  English   •   Music (Classical)
Only €3,49
Living up to our title, June features more organists than organs, although we do manage to mention the occasional instrument. We are extremely fortunate that the doyenne of the organ world, Dame Gillian Weir, took time from her busy schedule to talk to Ann Elise Smoot about her career – a most thought-provoking conversation. Similarly, William Whitehead talks to Tom Bell about working with varied composers in an attempt to complete the Orgelbüchlein – a mammoth and awe-inspiring task. Less controversially Tom Winpenny writes about Judith Bingham. Whether or not you are a “fan” of contemporary music, this is an excellent introduction to her musical world. It his opinion that although Judith isn’t an organist, she has an instinctive feel for the instrument.
June also sees the return of the BIOS column. David Shuker takes a look at an ancient, traditional organ custom – recycling – which once again proves that organists are ahead of their time.
As this is the June issue, we cannot not mention the Jubilee celebrations, therefore the pull-out image is of St Paul’s Cathedral and the organ which straddles the choir – truly spectacular.
read more read less
Organists' Review Preview Pages Organists' Review Preview Pages Organists' Review Preview Pages Organists' Review Preview Pages Organists' Review Preview Pages Organists' Review Preview Pages Organists' Review Preview Pages Organists' Review Preview Pages

Organists' Review

Organists' Review June 2012 Living up to our title, June features more organists than organs, although we do manage to mention the occasional instrument. We are extremely fortunate that the doyenne of the organ world, Dame Gillian Weir, took time from her busy schedule to talk to Ann Elise Smoot about her career – a most thought-provoking conversation. Similarly, William Whitehead talks to Tom Bell about working with varied composers in an attempt to complete the Orgelbüchlein – a mammoth and awe-inspiring task. Less controversially Tom Winpenny writes about Judith Bingham. Whether or not you are a “fan” of contemporary music, this is an excellent introduction to her musical world. It his opinion that although Judith isn’t an organist, she has an instinctive feel for the instrument. June also sees the return of the BIOS column. David Shuker takes a look at an ancient, traditional organ custom – recycling – which once again proves that organists are ahead of their time. As this is the June issue, we cannot not mention the Jubilee celebrations, therefore the pull-out image is of St Paul’s Cathedral and the organ which straddles the choir – truly spectacular.


SELECT FORMAT:
Instant Access

Available Digital Offers:

Single Digital Back Issue Organists' Review June 2012
 
3,49 / issue
This issue and other back issues are not included in a Organists' Review subscription. Subscriptions include the latest regular issue and new issues released during your subscription and start from as little as €6,00 per issue . If you're looking to subscribe please check out our Subscription Options
Savings are calculated on the comparable purchase of single issues over an annualised subscription period and can vary from advertised amounts. Calculations are for illustration purposes only. Digital subscriptions include the latest issue and all regular issues released during your subscription unless otherwise stated. Your chosen term will automatically renew unless cancelled in the My Account area upto 24 hours before the end of the current subscription.

Issue Cover

Organists' Review  |  Organists' Review June 2012  


Living up to our title, June features more organists than organs, although we do manage to mention the occasional instrument. We are extremely fortunate that the doyenne of the organ world, Dame Gillian Weir, took time from her busy schedule to talk to Ann Elise Smoot about her career – a most thought-provoking conversation. Similarly, William Whitehead talks to Tom Bell about working with varied composers in an attempt to complete the Orgelbüchlein – a mammoth and awe-inspiring task. Less controversially Tom Winpenny writes about Judith Bingham. Whether or not you are a “fan” of contemporary music, this is an excellent introduction to her musical world. It his opinion that although Judith isn’t an organist, she has an instinctive feel for the instrument.
June also sees the return of the BIOS column. David Shuker takes a look at an ancient, traditional organ custom – recycling – which once again proves that organists are ahead of their time.
As this is the June issue, we cannot not mention the Jubilee celebrations, therefore the pull-out image is of St Paul’s Cathedral and the organ which straddles the choir – truly spectacular.
read more read less
If you love to play, love to listen to or simply love to discuss organs as an instrument, this is the magazine for you. It provides a kaleidoscope of the organ world, with articles, information and stunning pictures covering a wide range of organ related topics. In addition to regular features such as new music and CD reviews, each issue explores in depth a theme of current interest.

Starting life primarily as the quarterly magazine of the IAO it is now available to all.

As a subscriber you'll receive the following benefits:


•  A discount off the RRP of your magazine
•  Your magazine delivered to your device each month
•  You'll never miss an issue
•  You’re protected from price rises that may happen later in the year

You'll receive 4 issues during a 1 year Organists' Review magazine subscription.

Note: Digital editions do not include the covermount items or supplements you would find with printed copies.

Your purchase here at Pocketmags.com can be read on any of the following platforms.


You can read here on the website or download the app for your platform, just remember to login with your Pocketmags username and password.

Apple Pocketmags Online Pocketmags Google Pocketmags
The Pocketmags app runs on all iPad and iPhone devices running iOS 13.0 or above, Android 8.0 or above and Fire Tablet (Gen 3) or above. Our web-reader works with any HTML5 compatible browser, for PC and Mac we recommend Chrome or Firefox.

For iOS we recommend any device which can run the latest iOS for better performance and stability. Earlier models with lower processor and RAM specifications may experience slower page rendering and occasional app crashes which are outside of our control.
4,6
/5
Based on 60 Customer Reviews
5
38
4
19
3
3
2
0
1
0
View Reviews

Organists' Review

Brilliant!! Reviewed 29 November 2020

Organists' Review

Latest edition (September 2020) is particularly interesting with some good articles Reviewed 04 September 2020

Organists' Review

Good range of topics written by respected authors Reviewed 07 April 2020

Organists' Review

Go on with the good job! Reviewed 23 February 2020

Organists' Review

As a big fan of the pipe organ, I can read and keep up with information regarding the organ/organists in one publication. No searching through different pubs looking for the info that you have Kindly offered for our reading pleasure. Thank. You.
David Crandall
Reviewed 14 February 2020

Articles in this issue


Below is a selection of articles in Organists' Review Organists' Review June 2012.

Organists' Review March 2024 March 2024 Buy for €6,99 View | Add to Cart
Organists' Review December 2023 December 2023 Buy for €6,99 View | Add to Cart
Organists' Review September 2023 September 2023 Buy for €6,99 View | Add to Cart
Organists' Review June 2023 June 2023 Buy for €6,99 View | Add to Cart
Organists' Review March 2023 March 2023 Buy for €6,99 View | Add to Cart
Organists' Review December 2022 December 2022 Buy for €6,99 View | Add to Cart
Organists' Review September 2022 September 2022 Buy for €6,99 View | Add to Cart
Organists' Review June 2022 June 2022 Buy for €6,99 View | Add to Cart
Organists' Review March 2022 March 2022 Buy for €4,99 View | Add to Cart
Organists' Review December 2021 December 2021 Buy for €4,99 View | Add to Cart
Organists' Review September 2021 September 2021 Buy for €4,99 View | Add to Cart
Organists' Review June 2021 June 2021 Buy for €3,49 View | Add to Cart
Organists' Review March 2021 March 2021 Buy for €3,49 View | Add to Cart
+
See All