This website use cookies and similar technologies to improve the site and to provide customised content and advertising. By using this site, you agree to this use. To learn more, including how to change your cookie settings, please view our Cookie Policy
Pocketmags Digital Magazines
Pocketmags Digital Magazines
   You are currently viewing the Australia version of the site.
Would you like to switch to your local site?
Digital Subscriptions > The Oban Times & Lochaber Times > 19th May 2016 > Taynuilt


TAYNUILT Golf Club held a three-person team open stableford on Sunday May 15.

Winners: Gents – 1 Kevin Mills, Mark Grant and Mark Cringean, Taynuilt 112 pts; 2 Mark Henricksen, David Howie and Andrew Diggory, Taynuilt 105 pts.

Ladies – 1 Alice MacCalman, Anne MacCalman and Jane MacIntyre, Taynuilt 98 pts; 2 Sally Thompson, Taynuilt, Donna Campbell and Mary Phillips, Seil 96 pts.

Longest drive: Ladies – Anne MacCalman. Gents – Andy Ronald, both Taynuilt.

Nearest the pin: Ladies – Fiona McGlynn. Gents – Allan Stewart, both Taynuilt.month.

Winners of Taynuilt Golf Club’s three-person team open stableford played last Sunday.

Marine Harvest Premiersh

Fort William 1

Kyles Athletic 3

Kyles Athletic go top of the Marine Harvest Premiership after they came from behind to beat Fort William 3-1 at An Aird.

Fort William co-managers Victor Smith and Adam Robertson recalled youngsters Calum Shepherd and Lewis Morrison to the starting line-up after they missed the previous weekend’s 2-2 draw with Lochaber as they were on holiday. Jay MacLeod was free of a two-game ban and he started on the bench. Sean Cruickshank and Graham Campbell were missing.

Kyles Athletic co-managers Fraser MacDonald and Kenny MacDonald were still without the injured David Zavaroni and Roberto Zavaroni whilst Scotland defender Callum Miller was also still unavailable so Roddy MacDonald continued in defence. Andrew King and Scott MacDonald were missing from the side which drew with Kinlochshiel the previous Saturday. Christopher Blair came into the defence with Gordon Whyte starting up front. The Kyles bench consisted of Rupert Williamson and Calum Mcarthur.

The match, which doubled up for the Drew Ferguson Memorial Cup which Kyles won at An Aird last year, was very even during the first half hour with no clear chances at either end.

A Fort William shy deep into the Kyles’ defence on 35 minutes was missed by Roddy MacDonald and the ball landed in the ‘D’ where Fort wing centre Alex MacMillan was impeded and referee John Angus Gillies had no hesitation in pointing to the penalty spot. Bryan Simpson slammed the resultant spot-hit past the keeper. The ball deflected into the net off keeper John Whyte’s right elbow, leaving a noticeable bruise by the end of the game.

Purchase options below
Find the complete article and many more in this issue of The Oban Times & Lochaber Times - 19th May 2016
If you own the issue, Login to read the full article now.
Single Issue - 19th May 2016
Or 149 points
Annual Digital Subscription
Only $ 1.02 per issue
Or 5299 points
6 Month Digital Subscription
Only $ 1.08 per issue
Or 2799 points

View Issues

About The Oban Times & Lochaber Times

Local news sport and leisure Oban Live 4 page special

Other Articles in this Issue